Library Home > Databases > Browse by Database Name
Log-in
My Saved RecordsBrowse by Database Name
-
1Findr is a discovery solution to find peer-reviewed papers with an emphasis on Open Access articles. This tool searches over 10 million papers and may even find freely accessible papers from journals to which the library does not subscribe.
-
Cross searching of the business databases: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports and data. International coverage . . .
-
ABI/INFORM Dateline searches 175 full-text local and regional business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services.
-
Comprehensive business database with in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text, on business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
-
In-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics for more than 3,140 publications, with over 2,930 in full-text.
-
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
-
Over 30,000 hours of streaming videos covering a wide range of subjects.
-
Collection of over 4,400 full-text titles in the humanities.
-
Full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. Heavily integrated with and includes unrestricted access to the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic data . . .
-
Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
-
Primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera about migrations of people of African descent to countries around the world, from the 19th century to present day.
-
Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. Organized into two bibliographic data sets: The NAL Online Public Access Catalog containing citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials; and the Article Citation Database including citations, many with abst . . .
-
Alexander Street Press provides access to over 9,000 videos. Subjects range from counseling and therapy to opera to education. Many videos include a full, searchable transcript, and videos can be linked or embedded in Canvas.
-
Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
-
Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
-
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection includes periodicals from America from 1684 until 1912. It includes more than 500 titles, giving researchers access to contemporary accounts of historical events.
-
Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
-
Complete contents of over 40 journals published by the American Chemical Society.
-
Drawing on holdings of The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this collection includes manuscript material, posters, broadsides, pamphlets and other materials related to American history from the start of the colonies through the end of the second world war.
-
Free access to digitized collections of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
-
Collection contains searchable, digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century, chronicling the development of America across 150 years.
-
Publications from a variety of political and social movements of 19th century America, including anarchists, communists, nativists, and advocates of workers' rights, immigration, women's rights, and language reform.
-
Digital retrospective collection of largely Congressional, but also Executive, primary source materials illuminating key moments in early American history as they occurred and influential decisions as they were made.
-
Indexes the nearly 800 anthropology journals in the collection of the Anthropology Library and Research Centre of the British Museum, and the films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute.
-
Indexes over 5,800 journals covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
-
Full-text digital, searchable database of American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications. Titles also available via Wiley Online Library.
-
Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerou . . .
-
Full-text articles from more than 300 publications, and indexing and abstracts for over 600 publications and 13,000 art dissertations covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Also includes indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions a . . .
-
Indexes over 600 journals, 13,000 dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
-
Indexes content from more than 55 years of art journalism from over 600 publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins.
-
A platform that cross-searches numerous Gale literature resources, including Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, and MLA International Bibliography
-
Digital archive containing over 1.6 million world art and architecture images. Requires Flash Player version 6.0 or later.
-
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19 . . .
-
Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, . . .
-
Approx 13,000 active ASTM Standards, historical versions dating back ~20 years, plus redlined version comparisons between any 2 versions. Manuals, Monographs, STPs, Data Series and 9 Journals, all dating back ~50 years, dealing with the development and application of standards.
-
Indexes over 1,700 journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from American Theological Library Association (ATLA)'s print indexes on religion and theology.
-
37 Shakespeare plays adapted for television broadcast on the BBC. Productions from the 1970's and 80's now available as streaming videos.
-
Provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and an extensive color image bank as well as other resource . . .
-
Includes the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), covering 1990-2007, and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. BHA offers both basic and advanced search modules and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and . . .
-
Comprehensive biographical resource indexing articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Includes over a million article . . .
-
Indexes over 4,200 journals in life sciences covering botany, microbiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, evolutionary ecology, neurology and toxicology. Access restricted to 10 users at a time.
-
Combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), The Chicago Defender Archive, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and Black Literature Index. Includes scholarly essays, recent p . . .
-
Indexes the Black Literature, 1827-1940 microfiche collection, allowing searching of over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
-
Indexes scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
-
Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspapers Chicago Defender and Daily Defender.
-
Full-text interdisciplinary essays written by leading academic black studies scholars on the Black Experience, including the most up-to-date thought on major topics of origin, culture, identity, art, religion, social justice, and more. Also included are reference textbooks Handbook of African Americ . . .
-
Streaming video database with over 500 hours of documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
-
A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Cult . . .
-
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction from over 5,000 periodicals. Also includes over 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals.
-
Provides access to nearly eight decades worth of literary critique, evaluation, and thought from Book Review Digest. Includes book summaries, abstracts, and citations for adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
-
Provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion . . .
-
Streaming video of live theater performances and previously recorded theatrical productions.
-
Provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, and conferences. Full-text articles from nearly 460 publications, with indexing and abstracts . . .
-
Access to full-text articles on companies, products, markets, industries, economics, and management disciplines. Also provides full-text U.S. and international private and public company directory listings, broker research reports and full-text PR Newswire releases on those companies.
-
Full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports . . .
-
A searchable library of over 200,000 hours of videos from all three C-SPAN networks covering federal politics in the United States.
-
Directories of publishing opportunities in journals relating to accounting, economics and finance, management, and marketing. Access generously provided by the College of Business & Economics.
-
Calcbench is a set of tools to analyze financial data. It uses the XBRL data standard to collect detailed information on every filer with the SEC. This tool allows in depth analysis of individual companies and side by side comparisons. Once at the site, first time users should register for an accoun . . .
-
Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California, selected from America's Historical Newspapers.
-
Searchable union catalog of the California State University Libraries.
-
Indexes electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
-
Provides comprehensive tax and accounting research database covering tax and accounting laws and news on the international, federal, state and local levels. Provides access to a variety of primary sources, analysis, journals, news, cases, and rulings. Formerly known as RIA Checkpoint.
-
Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.
-
Includes over 67,000 records on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
-
Collection of English-language sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. Provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
-
Online source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Includes access to The Almanac of Higher Education. Updated daily.
-
Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and . . .
-
Source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, it enables the stud . . .
-
Collection of evidence-based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews.
-
An open-access site for The Collected Papers of Albert Einstein, the ongoing publication of Einstein's massive written legacy comprising more than 30,000 unique documents.
-
Includes over 77,000 digital college catalogs, institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.
-
This is a set of three collections of brief electronic books that provide a review of a topic. Books are organized by topical series, and cover subjects including cell biology, developmental biology, and integrated systems physiology.
-
Indexing and abstracts for more than 600 journals and full text for over 500 journals in communication studies, speech, mass media, journalism, linguistics, and communicative disorders.
-
Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. Includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
-
Indexing, abstracts and full-text articles from more than 800 journals and periodicals covering the complete range of fields related to technology.
-
Streaming video collection for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Features counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, and lectures. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
-
Provides comprehensive geopolitical and socioeconomic information, data, and news on the recognized countries of the world.
-
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Covers topics in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
-
The only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspo . . .
-
A statistical data repository contains more than 35 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4.9 billion datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of en . . .
-
Presents population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census Bureau. Data sets section offers tables for the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and Population Estimates. (Formerly known as American Factfinder)
-
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies that provide data and trend information on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
-
A Podcast from the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) covering Mexican literature, theater, music, and other cultural topics.
-
DARE includes vocabulary for large regions of the country as well as smaller regions within each state. Users can search for specific words, browse by region, or view the survey and responses used to create the dictionary.
-
Digitized collection of over 104,000 declassified government documents culled from the collections of the National Security Archive, covering the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographie . . .
-
The collection will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy. The materials address issues including advocacy and rights, media portrayals of disability, . . .
-
Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses.
-
Docuseek2 provides access to hundreds of streaming education videos from a variety of producers and distributors. You can search for a specific title or keyword, or browse videos by theme or title.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital images of over 125,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser a . . .
-
Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).
-
Search across a wide range of general and subject specific databases, including resources previously provided by H.W. Wilson.
-
American Economic Association's database of economic research citations and abstracts, indexing journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews.
-
Provides full text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals, books and yearbooks on a wide array of subject areas including adult education, comparative education, government funding, higher education, school administration, and teacher evaluation.
-
Collection of streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
-
Provides indexing of important education literature, including information on societal trends affecting education such as segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, economic developments, etc. Indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book re . . .
-
Bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, as well as full text for over one thousand journals, books, monographs, and education-related conference papers. Topics incl . . .
-
Contains ethnographic collections on the cultures of the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject, and covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
-
Provides access to full-text digitized versions of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800, comprising over 136,000 titles relevant to the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
-
Full-text access to over 180 journals in management, applied science and technology, engineering, health sciences, and library and information science.
-
Updated edition features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
-
Service to manage citations and produce a works cited or references list. Import citations from a variety of sources and choose a variety of citation styles for a works cited/references list, including APA and MLA.
-
Streaming video collection addressing all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
-
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides access to education literature and resources. ERIC contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
-
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, . . .
-
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other e . . .
-
Provides a full-text collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada offering additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly journals and working papers, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, dissertations, and grass-roo . . .
-
Part of Alexander Street Anthropology, this streaming video collection of classic and contemporary documentaries for the study of anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology covers every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Includes interviews, field notes, study guides, and footage from . . .
-
Indexes over 5,200 general interest and scholarly journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, with full text articles from over 3,000 journals.
-
Indexes over 380 publications related to film and television literature, with selected coverage of 300 additional publications. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects and reviews.
-
180 documentary films distributed by Roco Films
-
American Film Scripts Online contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Most of the scripts have never be . . .
-
Provides streaming video of award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, . . .
-
Multidisciplinary streaming video service providing access to digital educational films. Current access includes over 700 videos in many subject areas.
-
Provides access to the archival and manuscript collections held by Special Collections and Archives in the Oviatt Library at California State University, Northridge.
-
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a mixed subject and institutional repository that preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. It's a digital library and archive of Federal Reserve, economic, and banking history, featuring publications . . .
-
Federal Reserve Economic Data is a database of over 291,000 economic time series from 80 sources. With FRED, you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series
-
Use this link to select from our list of Gale databases, which include resources in business, literature, and more general research.
-
Online access to directories: Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Research Centers Directory; Sch . . .
-
Cross-searching of multiple Gale databases: General OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Business Collection, and Opposing Viewpoints in Context.
-
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer hea . . .
-
Comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Includes the full text of the original 10-volume print encyclopedia searchable all together; associated audio examples; musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings; song texts and score examples; and charts and . . .
-
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impact . . .
-
Comprehensive general-interest resource providing periodical and news information. Includes more than 7,800 full-text titles and 3,600 refereed journals, as well as travel guides, National Public Radio programs, links to thousands of video files, and over 1,600 volumes of reference content.
-
Indexing and full-text access to key business and general interest titles, from national news magazines and encyclopedias to core business journals. More than 5,600 titles including more than 4,000 in full text; Knight-Ridder/ Tribune News Service Newspaper articles; more than 20 reference books; a . . .
-
Provides full text from more than 100 periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals in such fields as astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology.
-
Published by the American Geosciences Institute, GeoRef contains more than 3.5 million abstracts from journals, books, maps, conference papers, the U.S. Geological Survey and more, providing a comprehensive history of geology and its subfields.
-
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. In Google Book Search, the user may view pages from the book, find out "more about this book," examine content-related advertisements, and use links to the publisher's website and booksellers.
-
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select "Settings," click “Library Links” on left menu, type "CSUN" in the box “Show library acces . . .
-
Formerly known as FDsys, govinfo provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Offers a collection of full-text databases and the text of federal bills, Congressional Record, the Federal Register, and other legal sources.
-
Streaming video collection of famous speeches in their entirety by some of the greatest speakers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes introduction detailing historical context, significance and the rhetorical devices found in each speech.
-
Free research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Featuring hundreds of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect ecology. The t . . .
-
Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, th . . .
-
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. This digital library is made up primarily of public domain works.
-
Streaming video collection defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society, with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews. Access generously provided by NIH/NLM Women's Health Resources Dissemination Outreach . . .
-
Provides full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, nursing and allied health and other health-related areas. Integrates articles from a wide range of journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of . . .
-
A searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential . . .
-
Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
-
Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by "America: History & Life"), including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education.
-
Comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every quantifiable aspect of the history of the United States, including such areas as population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to th . . .
-
Collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
-
A research and learning database providing comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection is growing to include 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video that give voice to the countless victims . . .
-
Comprehensive indexing of nearly 1,200 journals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews, many of which are peer-reviewed.
-
Full text of articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals. Provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictu . . .
-
A business information databases that includes economic, demographic and government data to provide insight into over 700 industries in America. It includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chain information, risk ratings reports, and business environment profiles.
-
Provides full-text access to the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) for IEEE journals, transactions and magazines, conference proceedings, published standards, and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online, as well as IET journals and conference proceedings.
-
Chronicles the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native American . . .
-
Index on Jewish history, activity and thought. Provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
-
Now known as Music Periodicals Database. Index to more than 440 scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage of performance, music educa . . .
-
Indexing and abstracts from over 1,000 of the world's leading journals in political science and related disciplines. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
-
Video library dedicated to teaching science fundamentals through video demonstrations.
-
Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.
-
Journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
-
Kanopy is a platform for streaming video that currently features over 140 videos on a broad range of subjects. The platform features transcripts, embed links, and features for sharing playlists.
-
From its birth immediately following the Civil War to its re-awakening inspired by the film Birth of a Nation in 1915 through today’s fractured organizations using the Klan’s name, the Ku Klux Klan has occupied a persistent place in American society. At its peak in 1924, Klan-paid membership exceede . . .
-
Digital aerial imagery data covering the Los Angeles region. Allows viewing of imagery over topographic land variation, as well as viewing imagery at a 45 degree angle. Requires an additional account: CSUN students/faculty/staff contact laura.wimberley@csun.edu for assistance.
-
Over 250 hours of original language documentaries from producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films cover Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and more.
-
Now Known as Nexis Uni.
-
Includes a wide variety of company information, such as brands, competitors, executives, financial overviews and filings, investment research, news, and intellectual property
-
Streaming video collection for the study of LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences. Includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select f . . .
-
Provides indexing of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administratio . . .
-
Indexes nearly 1,500 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses that document the making of modern librarianship.
-
LISTA indexes more than 580 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings in such subjects as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management.
-
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book cha . . .
-
Formerly Lynda.com. Online collection of more than 1,900 video-based training courses on a variety of topics and software. New courses and topics are added every week. Students, faculty, and staff can access training videos from their tablets, smartphones, or desktops. Access generously provided by . . .
-
Full-text access to Something about the Author; Dictionary of Literary Biography; and these Literature Criticism Online collections: Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
-
Provides biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Draws from a number of Gale sources: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Ninete . . .
-
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
-
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-2012).
-
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains a . . .
-
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines. Also provides full text for tens of thousands of biographies and primary source documents; hundreds of reference books; an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & f . . .
-
Reviews and citations to research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
-
The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effect these representations have on identity and culture.
-
U.S. National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering biomedicine and life sciences topics such as bioengineering, public health, clinical care, plant and animal science, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, marine biology, and preclinical sciences. Indexes content from over 4,900 . . .
-
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide. . . .
-
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's web site for information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, easy-to-understand tutorials on common conditions, tests, and treatments, health information in Spanis . . .
-
Comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Offers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price . . .
-
Provides access to US taxable and municipal fixed income and evaluation data. From pre-sale through defeasance, data includes both issuer and bond level terms and condition data, US taxable bonds, municipal bonds and retail notes. Includes access to over 3 million municipal securities, and over 320 . . .
-
Fully searchable database with financial details of over 13,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, as well as over 24,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Includes over 300,000 U.S. and international company annual reports.
-
Provides full text for more than 160 popular middle-school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also includes thousands of full-text biographies and historical essays, over 100,000 primary source documents, reference books, and a School Image Collection . . .
-
Collection of periodicals, academic journals, and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
-
Provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature . . .
-
Indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Comprehensive coverage of the music field in both the classical and popular worlds of musi . . .
-
Streaming video collection of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. Access generous . . .
-
Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Index to more than 440 scholarly and popular periodicals in the areas of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology, music theory, and many others. There is particularly strong coverage o . . .
-
National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council. NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in sci . . .
-
Provides online access to NCJRS abstracts and indexes, full-text publications, grant information, calendar of events, and national and international resources in the area of criminal justice and related subjects.
-
Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers high definition streaming video of productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
-
Online music library offering streaming access to more than 99,000 CD-length recordings of classical, jazz, world, folk, classic pop and rock music.
-
Digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times from 1851-2012.
-
NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and c . . .
-
(formerly known as LexisNexis Academic) Provides access to over 15,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. Includes news coverage in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; detailed company informati . . .
-
A page within Nexis Uni that provides access to business news and a search for company information including executive profiles and SEC filings.
-
Database of occupational safety and health publications supported by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Abstracts, key terms, and links to full text are provided when available. NIOSHTIC-2 currently contains over 50,000 occupational safety and health information resou . . .
-
Searchable database of over 3 million abstracts of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports.
-
Union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH).
-
Cross-searching of H.W. Wilson databases. Contents include: full-text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 diss . . .
-
Online resource covering today’s "hottest" social issues. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Updated daily.
-
CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.
-
Collections feature historically significant documents, photographs, oral histories, artistic works and exhibit materials selected from the Oviatt Library Special Collections and Archives. The breadth of these collections is focused in the area of Southern California history with emphasis on the San . . .
-
Full text access to hundreds of scientific, technical and medical journals. Includes access to former Kluwer journals through 2005. Access limited to 1 user at a time for current titles. In order to limit access issues, users should log out by using the "logoff" link in the upper right when finished . . .
-
Gateway to online art resources: Grove Art Online, comprising the full text of The Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
-
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American Studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and are keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations. Includes a vast range of disciplinary persp . . .
-
OED is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present. Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.
-
Gateway to online music resources: Grove Music Online, comprising the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.; The Oxford Companion to Music; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
-
Collection of over 200 cross-searchable language and subject reference works from Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library, including titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.
-
Comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews in all major fields of philosophy. Includes over 680 journals published worldwide.
-
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
-
Now known as Sports Medicine & Education Index. Provides indexing and abstracting of scholarly and trade literature in physical education. Abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiol . . .
-
Bibliographic database covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Includes citations on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
-
Web-based Geographic Information System covering the United States used to understand communities. With easy-to-use menus, PolicyMap is a “GIS tool for non-GIS experts” for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.
-
Population Index on the Web provides a searchable and browsable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000.
-
Full text searchable database of the newspaper Pravda, the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, published between 1912-2009. Includes virtual keyboard for Cyrillic input of search terms.
-
Also known as Anatomy.tv, Primal Pictures provides a dynamic interactive multimedia overview of human anatomy in the area of sports and therapy. Features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function and biomechanics. Videos and textual descriptions supplement the animations and models. Acce . . .
-
Provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
-
Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
-
Online archive for journals published by the American Physical Society: Physical Review Letters, Physical Review A-E, and Reviews of Modern Physics.
-
Open Access research on COVID-19 outbreak.
-
Search across a wide range of newspapers, and databases in business and social sciences.
-
Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebook Centralaccount and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compat . . .
-
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources.
-
Full text access to peer-reviewed articles from more than 80 journals in psychology, including journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), covering general, specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
-
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations devoted to the peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
-
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
-
Reporting on South Africa from the Boer Wars to the apartheid era
-
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Indexes begin with 1983, abstracts in 1984, and full text in 1994.
-
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. Offers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.
-
Provides full text access to more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are: Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Busin . . .
-
RePEc is a central index of economics research, including working papers, articles and software code. The RePEc site links to several services using their index.
-
Richard K. Miller & Associates publications include market research handbooks covering the following sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering; Consumer Behavior; Entertainment, Media & Advertising; Healthcare Business; International Consumers; Leisure; Restaurant, Food & Beverage; Retail Business; Sports . . .
-
Achives of public opinion surveys. Users can search the "iPOLL Databank" which is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Users can also search for datasets using "RoperExpress" wh . . .
-
Also known as Safari Books Online, database provides full-text access to thousands of e-books in technology, business, creative and digital media, and personal and professional development, including computer manuals and reference works. When accessing this resource, you will be prompted to “Sel . . .
-
Full text access to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
-
Collection of over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education. Former titles: SAGE Reference Online; SAGE eReference.
-
SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings. SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behaviora . . .
-
Gateway to U.S. federal science. Searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results..
-
Provides access to abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles and book chapters in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
-
Research discovery application that provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. .
-
Full-text access to journals and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) Publishing and AIP member societies..
-
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
-
Full text of articles from some 215 journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of over 625 periodicals dating as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social scie . . .
-
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and disse . . .
-
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
-
More than 300 Sony Pictures Classics films from 1992 to 2015 as streaming video. Their catalog offers world cinema titles, and includes a strong emphasis on documentary, including works by filmmakers such as Louis Malle, Wim Wenders, Francis Ford Coppola, Ang Lee, Mike Leigh, Asghar Farhadi, Roman P . . .
-
Comprehensive bibliographic database covering sport, fitness and related disciplines. Contains over 1.7 million of records with journals and books coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
-
Provides indexing and abstracting of scholarly and trade literature in physical education. Abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fi . . .
-
Full-text access to journals, books, series, protocols, and reference works published by Springer.
-
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Data presented ranges from 2012 edition to the historical abstracts compiled since 1878. Note: U.S. Census Bureau ceased compilation of the Statistical Abstract with the 2012 edition.
-
Online version of the California State University, Northridge campus newspaper.
-
Swank is the world's largest non-theatrical distributor of motion pictures for public performance and the acknowledged leader in the field.
-
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science contains 50- to 100-page lectures synthesizing an important research or development topic, organized by series.
-
Collection of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
-
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, . . .
-
Comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Provides the ability to search by a product/service or company and to define geography within the United States and Canada
-
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England).
-
A resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
-
Online database of bibliographic information on approximately 34,000 ethnographic sound recordings. Most were recorded between 1933 and 1950.
-
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of t . . .
-
Provide key information about the censuses, surveys, and other programs that are the sources of data products, including historical censuses.
-
Alphabetical index consisting of keywords and phrases to access census statistics, free publications, products, services, and other social, demographic and economic information.
-
The United States Congressional Serial Set contains reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th Congress (1817) through the 103rd Congress (1994). Provides access to full text primary source material on U.S. political, social, cultural, military and . . .
-
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide: academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.
-
Provides access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. USA Trade Online provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) co . . .
-
U.S. government's official portal providing access to government information and services on the web.. Formerly called FirstGov.gov.
-
Citations for over 100,000 USGS publications, including numbered series published as early as 1880. Content ranges from full text to bibliographic citation.
-
A career intelligence resource that provides information on work in different industries, professions, and companies
-
Multidisciplinary database providing access to citations from more than 12,000 research journals worldwide. Includes the following citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present). C . . .
-
Legal search engine pulling from proprietary resources such as the West Key Number System, KeyCite, notes of decisions, and added search terms. Westlaw allows users to find cases, statutes, court rules, regulations, briefs, and legal news.
-
over 250 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, Finance, ESG, and Statistics. Flexible data delivery options include a powerful web query method that reduces research time, the WRDS Cloud for executing research and strategy development, and the WRDS c . . .
-
A platform for journals, primarily in the sciences, health sciences, and technology fields, but also featuring social sciences and society publications. We have access to only a subset of the publications here.
-
Organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present, the collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible. Database users can track women activists globally and trace particula . . .
-
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political . . .
-
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services.WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. Includes books, music CDs, videos, digital content, and article citations, available in many languages.
-
A cloud-based investment decision-making platform. Includes data on stock markets, events, and sectors and industries, among others. Several chart and table options are available, and an Excel add-in helps automate financial models. Once at the site, first time users should register for an account