Africana Studies

Combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals Full Text (IIBP), The Chicago Defender Archive, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and Black Literature Index. Includes scholarly essays, recent p . . .

Indexes over 1,800 journals as well as dissertations on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.

Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by "America: History & Life"), including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education.

Archive of back issues of core scholarly journals across a wide range of subjects, with an emphasis on arts, humanities, and social sciences. Also includes current content for select journals and a large collection of University Press books.

Streaming video database with over 500 hours of documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

A collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Cult . . .

Provides biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Draws from a number of Gale sources: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Ninete . . .

Provides searchable access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature . . .

Full text of over 300 peer-reviewed journals published by university presses and scholarly societies with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Index covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered by "America: History & Life"), including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education.

Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspaper Chicago Defender.

Full-text digital archive of the influential black newspapers Chicago Defender and Daily Defender.

Full-text interdisciplinary essays written by leading academic black studies scholars on the Black Experience, including the most up-to-date thought on major topics of origin, culture, identity, art, religion, social justice, and more. Also included are reference textbooks Handbook of African Americ . . .

Indexes the Black Literature, 1827-1940 microfiche collection, allowing searching of over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Indexes scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

Digital archive of more than 270 historically significant African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.

Chronicles the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native American . . .